DSE holds director election today


Three candidates to vying for two posts

The election to the post of two shareholder-directors of prime bourse Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE) will be held on Sunday.

The election has been due as two directors are going to retire this year in line with the demutualization scheme as per DSE’s election board schedule.

The election will be held at 10:00am and continue till 3:30pm without any break on the ground floor of Stock Exchange building in Dhaka’s Motijheel. 

The three candidates are Shakil Rizvi, managing director of Shakil Rizvi Stock Ltd, Mohammad Shahjahan, managing director of Jahan Securities, and Mohammad Shamim Afzal, chief executive officer of Desa Securities.

Sharif Ataur Rahman and Md Hanif Bhuiya will retire from the board. This year, a total of 259 DSE voters are expected to cast their votes.

A three-member election commission, headed by retired High Court judge Justice Md Abdus Samad, will be conducting the election.

As per the demutualization scheme 2013, the bourse has 13 members — seven independent directors, four shareholder directors, one strategic investor and bourse’s managing director.

As per the election schedule, the final voter list was published on the DSE website on December 8, while nomination papers were collected from December 9 and submitted by December 11.

The newly-elected director’s name will be announced at the bourse’s 58th annual general meeting (AGM) on Monday.