Coronavirus outbreak: Kuwait restricts entry from Bangladesh


Medical certificate has been made compulsory for people of Bangladesh and nine other countries

Kuwait has said passengers from 10 countries, including Bangladesh, will be prevented from entering the Middle East country if they do not carry the coronavirus-free certificate.

The country’s Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) issued a circular in this regard on Tuesday.

The nine other countries are — Philippines, India, Egypt, Syria, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Sri Lanka, Georgia, and Lebanon.

In the statement on Twitter, the DGCA asked the passengers coming from the countries to undergo medical examination in their countries that confirms they are free from the new coronavirus before entering Kuwait.

The DGCA stressed that the examination certificate must be issued by health centres approved by the Embassy of State of Kuwait. 

If there is no Kuwaiti embassy in these countries, they must be certified by the health authorities operating in the said countries, the statement said.

The circular will be implemented from March 8, the directorate said.

Civil Aviation:Medical Examination for Expats Arriving from Ten Countries to Kuwait

At 56, Kuwait has the largest number of infections in the Middle East outside Iran. 

Of late, Kuwaiti authorities have instituted a spate of measures aimed at containing the spread of the virus, including quarantines and banning visits to prisons for two weeks.

As of now, over 3,000 people have been killed by the virus.