BPL Icon players find home


BPL_Icons_PlyersDaily Dhaka Times: The teams for the icon players in the third season of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Twenty20 have been finalized in the Players’ Draft Programme on Thursday.

While arguably the most wanted icon player Shakib Al Hasan, also the number one all-rounder in all forms of the game, has gone to Rangpur Riders; Comilla Victorians, the new franchisee of the league, has got Bangladesh limited-ovef captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Both Shakib and Mashrafe played for the current title holders Dhaka Gladiators in the previous season of the lucrative league. Shakib was adjudged the man of the tournament in both of the previous editions of BPL.


The desire of Bangladesh’s dashing opener Tamim Iqbal has also been fulfilled, as he is going to represent his home team Chittagong Vikings.

Though he played for his home team in the inaugural season of the BPL as well, he had to play for Duronto Rajshahi in the second edition. On the other hand, Mushfiqur Rahim is once again going to play for Sylhet Superstars; Mushfiqur donned in Sylhet jersey in the previous season of the BPL as well.

In the meantime, Mahmudullah Riyad, who played for Chittagong Kings in BPL 2, will this time play for Barisal Bulls while Nasir Hossain, the super all-rounder of Bangladesh side, who was the icon cricketer of Rangpur Riders in 2013, will play for Dhaka Dynamites this time.

– Jannatul Naym Pieal


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here