Bangladesh establish complete dominance on day three 3


Bangladesh resumed on 240 for three and unbeaten batsmen Mominul Haque and Mushfiqur Rahim started with the same confidence that they showcased on the second day

Bangladesh declared on 560 runs for the loss six wickets in their first innings, riding on Mushfiqur Rahim’s unbeaten double century of 203 and Mominul Haque’s 132 during their lone Test match against Zimbabwe at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla national cricket stadium Monday.

Late in the day, Zimbabwe started their second innings trailing by 195 runs. They lost two wickets on the second and third ball of the first over, finishing the day on 9/2, still trailing by 186 runs.   

Bangladesh resumed on 240 for three and unbeaten batsmen Mominul Haque and Mushfiqur Rahim started with the same confidence that they showcased on the second day. 

No wicket fell in the first session and skipper Mominul picked up his ninth Test century with a boundary in the 83rd over of the innings.

Mominul Haque plays a shot Md Manik/Dhaka Tribune

Mominul last scored a hundred in November 2018 against West Indies at Chittagong- 14 innings ago. All of his hundreds have been on home soil.

Mushfiqur was also batting superbly at the other end and cruised to the nineties before the lunch session. Mushfiq was on 99 during the last over before lunch and he defended three consecutive deliveries before going to lunch unbeaten, one short of the coveted-three figure mark. 

Just after the lunch session, Mushfiq scored his well deserved ton, the seventh in his career, with a boundary. 

Mominul and Mushfiq’s 222-run stand for the fourth wicket came to an end with the dismissal of the skipper in the 111th over of the innings, when he was caught and bowled by Ainsley Ndlovu after a well constructed 132-run innings with the aid of 14 fours, leaving the side on 394.

That also ended the second 200-plus partnership by two of the most diminutive men in the history of the Test cricket. They put up a 266 run partnership against the same opponents in 2018. 

Bangladesh lost two more wickets in the remaining part of the day, those of Mohammad Mithun (17) and Liton Kumar Das (53), before declaring on a massive total of 560 for 6 just after Mushfiq reached his double ton with five overs remaining in the day’s play. 

 Nayem Hasan bolws Md Manik/Dhaka TribuneIt was the third double century for Mushfiqur Rahim in his 70-match Test career. His last double century (219 not out) also came against Zimbabwe when they played each other at the same ground in 2018. The other double century came against Sri Lanka at Galle in 2013. Shakib al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal have scored one double century each for Bangladesh. 

The brilliance of batting was complemented by an amazing first over from off-spinner Nayem Hasan. The 19-year old bowler, who got four wickets in the first innings, bowled Zimbabwean opener Prince Masvaure with his second ball before forcing one-down Donald Tiripano to nick one through to wicketkeeper Liton to put the visitors in all sorts of trouble. 

Opener Kevin Kasuza and the experienced Brendon Taylor saw off the remaining deliveries but they, along with the remaining batsmen, need to show a herculean effort to salvage the Test match in next two days. 


Zimbabwe first innings 265 (Ervine 107, Abu Jayed 4/71)

Bangladesh first innings (overnight 240/3)


Tamim c Chakabva b Tiripano             41    89

Saif c Chakabva b Nyauchi                8    12

Najmul c Chakabva b Tshuma            71    139

Mominul c & b Ndlovu                       132    234

Mushfiqur not out                             203    318

Mithun c Chakabva b Ndlovu           17    23

Liton c Chakabva b Sikandar          53    95

Taijul not out                              14    19

Extras (b8, lb3, nb5, w5)                     21

Total (6 wickets dec, 154 overs)         560

Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Saif), 2-96 (Tamim), 3-172 (Najmul Hossain), 4-394 (Mominul Haque), 5-421 (Mithun), 6-532 (Liton Das) 

Bowling: Tiripano 30-6-96-1 (nb2, w4), Nyauchi 27-3-87-1 (w1, nb2), Raza 30-2-111-1 (nb1), Tshuma 25-2-85-1, Ndlovu 42-4-170-2


Masvaure b Nayeem                           0    2

Kasuza not out                              8    18

Tiripano c Liton b Nayeem                   0    1

Taylor not out                            1    9

Extras                                         0

Total (2 wickets, five overs)              9

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Masvaure), 2-0 (Tiripano)

Bowling: Nayeem 3-1-4-2, Taijul 2-0-5-0