22 public holidays in 2016


public-holidayDaily Dhaka Times: The Bangladesh official calendar for 2016 will have 22 public holidays.

Monday’s regular Cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina approved the list.

Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam told reporters that there will be 14 general holidays next year and another eight cleared by executive orders.

These 22 days, include holidays for national days, religious festivals and the Bangla New Year.

Alam said that another three days of optional leave has been approved for members of different religious communities to observe their own festivals.

“Government employees of ethnic origin in the Chittagong Hill Tracts can opt for two days additional leave along with the Bangla New Year Holiday,” he added.

The first day of Baishakh (Apr 14) is national holiday. Ethnic groups celebrate their own festivals before and after the Day.

Alam said that the government has approved the 29th of Chaitra and the second day of Baishakh as optional holidays.

Chakmas celebrate ‘Phulbiju’ on 29th of Chaitra, a day before the ‘Chaitra Sangkranti’ – the end of Bangla month of Chaitra – while Tripuris celebrate ‘Harhiboish’ on the same day.

Marmas and Rakhains celebrate ‘Sangrai’ on the second day of Bangla month of Baishakh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here